Skip to content ↓



There are seven areas of learning and development, grouped into two categories – prime areas and specific areas.

The prime areas are important because they lay the foundations for children’s success in all other areas of learning and of life:

Personal, Social and Emotional Development
Physical Development
Communication and Language

The specific areas provide the range of experiences and opportunities for children to broaden their knowledge and skills:

Understanding the World
Expressive Arts and Design

The prime areas are fundamental to children's successful learning in the specific areas. The specific areas cannot be encountered in isolation. A strong foundation in the prime areas is essential as evidence shows that, if it is not securely in place by age five, it holds children back in other areas of learning and development.

Children will be observed as routine and through an on-going basis. The support provided for your child will be appropriate to an individual child’s level of development and progress.

Children are treated as individual learners, and the practitioners within Reception at Welbourne Primary school, will introduce aspects of the specific areas of the curriculum to your child as we judge appropriate. This can be earlier for some than others.

By clicking on the headings above, you can see the objectives your child is aiming to have met by the end of the Foundation Stage.

If you have any queries about the curriculum observations or your child, please come and see me or feel free to email me at: